Traffic Committee

Randwick Traffic Committee

The Randwick Traffic Committee is a committee of Randwick City Council set up under a delegation from Transport for NSW (TfNSW), to deal with traffic matters on local roads.

On 1 December 2019, Roads and Maritime Services (RMS) and Transport for NSW (TfNSW) joined together to create one integrated TfNSW. All functions and responsibilities will now be performed by TfNSW and any references to Roads and Maritime Services are legally taken to mean TfNSW automatically.

A condition of the delegation from TfNSW is that the Council must take into account recommendations from the Traffic Committee.  For information about the powers and functions of Traffic Committees go to this link Randwick City Council welcomes members of the public wanting to attend and speak at Traffic Committee meetings.  For more information contact us.

The Traffic Committee generally meets at 9:30am, on the second Tuesday of each month (except for January when no meeting is arranged). Every attempt is made to prepare the Agenda and place it on this website one week prior to the meeting. Once finalised a link to the Agenda will appear below.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: Given the COVID-19 Pandemic, many of Council's facilities, including the Customer Service Centre, the Libraries, the Des Renford Leisure Centre and various other Council facilities are closed to the public until further notice.

In order to protect the health of members of our community, the representatives of other agencies and Council staff members, the regular arrangements relating to the holding of the Committee cannot be continued. There will be no physical meetings of the Traffic Committee, until further notice.

The Traffic Committee meetings will be held as a video / remote meeting; using MS Teams.  The meeting starts at 9.30am.

Any members of the community, wishing to make representations regarding a matter listed within the Traffic Committee Agenda, are invited to email the Council ( with their request.  You will then be sent details on how you may join the meeting.

Current / Most Recent Agenda Papers:

Please note 2020 Agenda Papers are now on the Business Papers and Minutes page

Minutes of recent Traffic Committee Meetings

Please note 2020 Minutes are now on the Business Papers and Minutes page


The four permanent members of the Traffic Committee are representatives from:

  • NSW Police
  • Transport for NSW (TfNSW)
  • Local State Member of Parliament for the location of the particular agenda items
  • Randwick City Council.


Only permanent members have a vote on Traffic Committee recommendations and each vote has equal weight. Decisions of the Traffic Committee implemented by the Council may require a report to a Council meeting and a resolution by the Council.


Only permanent members have the right to appeal a decision.

If the Local Member disagrees with any of the Traffic Committee recommendations, they may appeal to TfNSW or the Minister for Roads.

If the Police or TfNSW disagrees with any of the Traffic Committee recommendations, or with the Council's resolution on any Traffic Committee recommendation, they may lodge an appeal with the Sydney Regional Traffic Committee for determination.  The Sydney Regional Traffic Committee is chaired by an independent chairperson and submissions and representations are welcomed.

Appeals by Traffic Committee members must be lodged, in writing, within 14 days of them receiving notification of the Council's decision on a recommendation. Action on an issue under appeal must stop until the appeal is determined.

Back to top