Created at Blenheim House

Sat 30 Jul 2022 - Sat 30 Jul 2022

11 am - 3 pm

Blenheim House
17 Blenheim Street, Randwick

Step inside historic Blenheim House to see artworks and installations created in harmony with the building's long and rich history. At the same time, explore the beautiful 1848 sandstone and cedar two-storey house (and attic!) inside a tucked-away secret garden in Randwick.

Free entry

Historic Blenheim House is being opened to the public for the very first time with an exciting program of art installations and performances.

Created at Blenheim House features artists and performers showcasing their incredible artworks as they engage directly with the building, its history, and its significance to Randwick.

This exhibition includes unique artworks and two pop-up performances from Alex Gawronski, Angela Nashaat, Chris Cody in trio with Susie Bishop and Matthew Doyle, Christina Mimmocchi, Derek Carter, Helena Lillywhite, and Sandra Cipriotti.

The installation also celebrates the start of Blenheim House's transformation from abandoned residence to an arts and culture centre. Before works begin and Blenheim House is fully refurbished, Council is bringing the space alive with short-term art, performance and cultural activities.

Chris Cody and trio will perform on Saturday 6 August between 11am and 1pm.

Christina Mimmocchi will perform on Sunday 7 August at 2pm.

This is a free entry exhibition, with no tickets or bookings needed.

Opening Hours:

Blenheim House was completed in January 1848 by Simeon Henry Pearce, later Randwick's first mayor after Randwick became incorporated as a municipality on 22nd February 1859. It was built facing west overlooking what is today Randwick Racecourse. Pearce became known as the "Father of Randwick" and his energy, foresight, and influence helped mould the character of early Randwick. He served six terms as mayor of the municipality and was the driving force behind the building of St Jude's Church in Randwick.

The House was acquired by Randwick City Council in 1984 and restored with the help of the Friends of Blenheim House from 1989.

Last Updated: 31 July 2022
Back to top